print

Meet Our 2023 Alumni Scholarship Recipients

This year's Alumni Association Scholarship was awarded to two well-deserved students: Abigail "Abby" Lewis '24 and Lily Hebda '25. Abby is a neuroscience major minoring in psychology and Lily is majoring in English and secondary education.

Learn more about their family who are alumni, their inspiration, and more about who they are individually in the Q&A below!

Abby Lewis '24

Abby Lewis (left) and her mother, Margaret Lewis '01 (right).

What is your major(s), expected graduation year, and clubs/involvement on campus?

I am majoring in neuroscience and minoring in psychology, and I am expected to graduate in the Spring of 2024. I am currently involved in the Honors Program, tri beta (biology honor society), and I am a Wilkes Adventure Education enthusiast. I am also an honors peer mentor and e-mentor, while also being the treasurer for the neuroscience club. Previously, I had been an intern at the NeuroTraining Research center, I was the vice president for the junior class for the 2022-2023 year, and I have had two years of experience running on the Wilkes women’s cross country team.  

What is your favorite thing about Wilkes?

My favorite thing about Wilkes is the ability to build connections with professors who know you on a more personal level. Because of the smaller class sizes, they know who you are, and they are willing to help you and work with you as much as they can. 

What has been your most rewarding opportunity here at Wilkes?

The most rewarding opportunity here at Wilkes would be the Guthrie Scholars Program. The amount of experience I will gain there is unheard of. This program at Guthrie’s main campus in Sayre is where seniors can spend an entire semester shadowing medical professionals from all different fields in a large clinical setting.

What are your plans for the future?